Future Groove is a rare groove psychedelic jazz funk force to be reckoned with fronted by the international vocal talent that is Helen McDonald.  Featuring the astoundingly 
fresh and compelling grooves of Kofi Adu on drums (
Anthony Joseph Spasm Band,  Yaaba funk  and Little Number), Lesley Booth ( Freda Payne, Gloria Gaynor, Billy Eckstine and Rod Stewart) on bass and Yul Emirali on keys. 

Notable gigs include The Tabernacle (Powis Square W11) Jazzlive at the Crypt (St. Giles Church SE5).  The band regularly perform at The Hootananny (Brixton SW9) The Lambeth Country Show (Brockwell Park SW9) and The Ritzy (Brixton SW9).

The chances are you will have been wowed by Helen McDonald either performing at top events such as The Ealing or Brecon Jazz Festivals, London Jazz Festival or The Spice of Life: or playing with musical heavy weights such as  the late great Gill Scott-Heron, Flautist Keith Waite and The Macusi Players, Yaaba Funk, Jason Yarde, Robin Hopcroft, Robert Mitchell, Chris Jerome: the list is endless.  Future Groove is the embodiment of Helen's musical vision .  It comprises rare groove and jazz funk classics that will contain audiences like a force field to the dance floor. Even more significantly, Future Groove is a chance to hear Helen's exciting music experiences captured in her brilliantly written and crafted original songs performed by top, hand picked musicians.

Future Groove's  long awaited 2013 EP is here.  Listen below

7 inch single vinyl released and available at Pure Vinyl Records
(Brixton) https://www.facebook.com/purevinylx

 Set List

  • Autumn (Original)
  • Big City Blues (Original)
  • Feelin' it (Original)
  • Pickin Up (Original)
  • Better Day (Original)
  • Love Yourself (Original)
  • Start Again (Original)
  • Hello Goodbye (Original)
  • Live Life Love Life (Original)
  • 10:30               (Original by Leslee Booth)
  • Four Women - Nina Simone
  • Everybody Loves The Sunshine - Roy Ayres
  • I am the Black Gold of the Sun - Rotary Connection
  • Lady Day and John Coltrane - Gill Scot-Heron
  • Mothers of the Future - Norman Connors
  • People Make the World go Round - The Stylistics
  • Aldeia de Ogum - Joyce
  • Anti Love Song - Betty Davis
  • The Creator Has a Master Plan  - Pharoah Sanders/ Leon Thomas
  • Expansions - Lonnie Liston Smith
  • Red Clay Mark Murphy version
  • I can't help it performed by Michael Jackson, written by Susaye Green/ Stevie Wonder
  • Theme de Yoyo Art ensemble of Chicago
  • Ain't No Sunshine Bill Withers
  • I Feel Good James Brown
  •  What's Going On Marvin Gaye
  • Malaika Miriam Makeba
  • Okete Oba  (Folk Song)

For more live videos of gigs please visit https://www.facebook.com/emiralimusic

  1. See Gigs page to find out where they are playing next

  2. Contact Emirali Music To Book Future Groove